Author Topic: Miasmata  (Read 879 times)

pat

• Eulexic
  • Rugby, England.
    • View Profile
Miasmata
« on: January 23, 2021, 12:51:15 AM »
Miasmata, a 'common' word played by 12 people out of 302. Really?

mkenuk

• Eulexic
  • Life? Don't talk to me about life.
    • View Profile
Re: Miasmata
« Reply #1 on: January 23, 2021, 03:10:01 AM »
...and taramasalata managed 14.

Do we need to say more?

pat

• Eulexic
  • Rugby, England.
    • View Profile
« Reply #2 on: January 23, 2021, 03:16:19 AM »
I think there's a difference between the two, Mike.  I think a lot of people who failed to play taramasalata probably did so because they didn't spot it rather than because they didn't know the word, whereas I suspect miasmata is known by far fewer people.

mkenuk

• Eulexic
  • Life? Don't talk to me about life.
    • View Profile
« Reply #3 on: January 23, 2021, 11:20:48 AM »
Sorry, Pat, you can put me down as one who didn't know the word and therefore didn't find it.
I'm not very good at names of food and ingredients.
I'll just have to take your word for it that it is likely to be known by lots of people. My visits to Greek-speaking countries took place many years ago.

I fully agree with you about miasmata. I assume this is a Greek plural form.
I would have thought that miasma was a 'non-count' noun which wouldn't normally have a plural.
COD, however, does give miasmas, ie with the regular English plural inflexion.

Interestingly, in another recent game automata, a similar plural form, was given 'uncommon'
COD, by the way, gives both automatons and automata as the plural of automaton.
« Last Edit: January 23, 2021, 11:26:20 AM by mkenuk »

Jacki

• Cryptoverbalist
    • View Profile
« Reply #4 on: January 23, 2021, 02:36:31 PM »
Well I'd say a giblet is known to more people than taramasalata. As for miasmata I don't even know what it means. I have heard of miasma.
Late blooming azaleas tricked by the warmer weather into flowering

pat

• Eulexic
  • Rugby, England.