Author Topic: deseed  (Read 743 times)

matt

• Neophyte
    • View Profile
deseed
« on: January 20, 2021, 11:40:20 AM »
I would expect this to be commonly known and was quite surprised that it wasn't even recognised.

The letters were available for it in the standard puzzle yesterday (2021-01-19) but it wasn't accepted, even as rare.

I would also expect -er, -ed, and -ing to be commonly known but the letters weren't there to be able to test them so I don't know if they would be accepted.

Jacki

• Cryptoverbalist
    • View Profile
Re: deseed
« Reply #1 on: January 20, 2021, 07:14:46 PM »
Yes Matt, I too encountered this when I started playing. I also feel devein should be a word (prawns normally). It's interesting because reseed is a word and I would have thought it was less common than deseed. 
Late blooming azaleas tricked by the warmer weather into flowering

les303

• Cryptoverbalist
  • Never give up just keep on trying
    • View Profile
« Reply #2 on: January 20, 2021, 07:57:19 PM »
i also tried deseed.
I would also like a dollar for every hour that i have spent shelling & deveining prawns.

Alan W

• Administrator
  • Eulexic
  • Melbourne, Australia
    • View Profile
    • Email
« Reply #3 on: January 21, 2021, 04:26:04 PM »
Devein is already allowed, Jacki, along with deveined and deveining.
Alan Walker
Creator of Lexigame websites

Jacki

• Cryptoverbalist
    • View Profile
« Reply #4 on: January 21, 2021, 08:21:32 PM »
Yes I know. I try to reach common words first. Probably deveining prawns in Australia is way more common than elsewhere! Like Les I know I spent literally hours deveining prawns this last Christmas and New Year, because I can't stand eating the poopshoot.

Alan W

• Administrator
  • Eulexic
  • Melbourne, Australia
    • View Profile
    • Email
« Reply #5 on: January 22, 2021, 05:17:20 PM »