Author Topic: The 'menopausal' 10-letter game  (Read 1400 times)

mkenuk

• Eulexic
  • Life? Don't talk to me about life.
    • View Profile
The 'menopausal' 10-letter game
« on: January 04, 2020, 08:22:47 PM »
I would like to nominate this game as the most difficult of all time.

1. There was only one rosette awarded - surely a new record.
2. Fewer than half of those taking part (130 from 273) found the seedword.
3. Five of the 'common' words 'pleonasm', 'neoplasm', 'alumnae', 'lumpen' and 'mausolea' were played by fewer than 30 of the 273 participants.

Personally, I enjoy games like this, demanding though they are.
Although I'm not convinced that any of the five words I have mentioned are really common, I did find three of them and missed two.
I don't think I've seen the word pleonasm since university* when we had to go through all those weird and wonderfully unpronouncable figures of speech: synecdoche, litotes, oxymoron and all the rest.

*I graduated in 1967!

« Last Edit: January 05, 2020, 09:08:23 AM by mkenuk »

Dragonman

• Paronomaniac
    • View Profile
Re: The 'menopausal' 10-letter game
« Reply #1 on: January 05, 2020, 01:15:08 AM »
I agree, a demanding and challenging game.

NEOPLASM and PLEONASM both eluded me, if I ever even heard of them before.

Every days a schoolday.
You are UNIQUE....just like everyone else

Jacki

• Cryptoverbalist
    • View Profile
« Reply #2 on: January 05, 2020, 08:29:48 AM »
I too enjoy challenging games however when I spend my time trying to find those elusive common words that end up being anything but common it does both irk and educate me.
Live and learn. I do think that mausolea, neoplasm and pleonasm are certainly not common.
Late blooming azaleas tricked by the warmer weather into flowering

mkenuk

• Eulexic
    • View Profile
« Reply #3 on: January 05, 2020, 08:30:12 PM »