Author Topic: Surreal  (Read 3705 times)

pat

• Eulexic
  • Rugby, England.
    • View Profile
Surreal
« on: October 25, 2013, 08:26:11 PM »
When I started playing Chi yesterday, both the standard and ten-letter puzzles were available as new puzzles. I initially played just one word, lunch, in the 10-letter puzzle but then changed to the standard puzzle as I like to do them chronologically.

When I went back to the 10-er, I hit the comma intending to add 'ed' to lunch, but the last word played showed as 'hudbla'. Now I know I'd had a long day, but hudbla? Once I'd manually entered lunched everything was fine. But then, by accident, I typed dunch instead of dunce. Dunch was accepted as a rare word so I clicked on it to see what it meant and ninjawords gave me this:

"noun: a fat hit from a claggy lie." Say what?

Beam me up scotty.

Gaye Christine

• Paronomaniac
  • Johannesburg, South Africa
    • View Profile
Re: Surreal
« Reply #1 on: October 25, 2013, 08:32:13 PM »
We're not in Kansas anymore, Toto  ;D ;D

mkenuk

• Eulexic
  • Life? Don't talk to me about life.
    • View Profile
« Reply #2 on: October 25, 2013, 11:19:48 PM »
'A fat hit from a claggy lie' sounds like the sort of English that you might see on a Japanese t-shirt - the words don't have to mean anything as long as they're in English.
'www.Engrish.com' is a website devoted to examples of such things. If anyone is ever feeling a bit down in the dumps, I guarantee that a few minutes spent on this site will cheer them up.

MK

pat

• Eulexic
  • Rugby, England.
    • View Profile
« Reply #3 on: October 25, 2013, 11:32:24 PM »
Thanks, MK. The Indian babies one made me laugh out loud.

bobbi

• Cryptoverbalist
    • View Profile
« Reply #4 on: October 26, 2013, 12:52:52 PM »
'www.Engrish.com' is a website where you can get lost in laughter for hours   ;D
Thanks MK!

a non-amos

• Glossologian
    • View Profile
« Reply #5 on: October 31, 2013, 02:45:25 PM »