Author Topic: coffee  (Read 3957 times)

a non-amos

• Glossologian
    • View Profile
coffee
« on: April 07, 2013, 02:18:43 PM »
This afternoon I had to spend some "quality time" at work.  As long as I was there anyway, I used my down time to clean out the coffee equipment (this would have been easier with power tools, yes it was that bad).  I am tired of drinking bad coffee.  Even the Kona is only a shadow of what it could have been.

One of our new hires came up behind me while I was cleaning the coffee equipment.  He commented on the deplorable condition of his cubicle, and requested that I immediately attend to it.

Oh, I am most sorry, sir. You have my abject apologies.  ON WHAT PLANET DO YOU IMAGINE THAT I AM NOT A SENIOR ENGINEER?

Long story made short, I am bringing an interesting variety of coffee to work on Monday.  Good coffee made with incredibly filthy equipment will taste like the worst of all batches before it.  This afternoon the equipment was gleaming.  You had to wear sunglasses when you stepped into the room. 

On Monday I will bring in some Jamaican Blue Mountain from my private stock.
Carpe digitus.
(Roughly translated, this is possibly the world's oldest "pull my finger" joke)

pat

• Eulexic
  • Rugby, England.
    • View Profile
Re: coffee
« Reply #1 on: April 07, 2013, 06:27:49 PM »
It sounds as if he made a simple mistake. Quite an understandable one, too, given that you were cleaning the coffee machine. I hope your response wasn't as sarcastic as you made it sound.

a non-amos

• Glossologian
    • View Profile
« Reply #2 on: April 08, 2013, 08:07:47 AM »
Not really.  That was more along the lines of what I was thinking.
Carpe digitus.

birdy

• Eulexic
  • Brooklyn, NY
    • View Profile
« Reply #3 on: April 09, 2013, 07:51:57 AM »
Think of how embarrassed the guy will be when he realizes his mistake.  Or did you already let him know?

a non-amos

• Glossologian
    • View Profile
« Reply #4 on: April 09, 2013, 12:03:11 PM »