Author Topic: Ghee  (Read 3840 times)

Morbius

• Cryptoverbalist
    • View Profile
Ghee
« on: March 04, 2013, 11:28:41 AM »
Scene:  Yesterday's standard puzzle.  Morbius needs one more common word for a rosette.  He sees ghee and thinks "Yes!  One rosette coming up!"  He plays it - it comes up as rare.  Expletives uttered.  He fails to find the final word.  Misses rosette.  More expletives uttered.

Most people have heard of ghee, haven't they?  Shouldn't it be common?

Valerie

Re: Ghee
« Reply #1 on: March 04, 2013, 02:07:19 PM »
Oh dear, poor Morbius, I do sympathise.  Being a cook, I certainly have heard of ghee.  Some words which I would regard as common annoyingly end up being rare and, like you, I utter many profanities, particularly when there's a rosette in the offing.  The word which gave me my rosette today was so darn common that I turned the air blue because I took so long to find it.

mkenuk

• Eulexic
  • Life? Don't talk to me about life.
    • View Profile
« Reply #2 on: March 04, 2013, 07:53:38 PM »

Most people have heard of ghee, haven't they?  Shouldn't it be common?

Here's the deal: I agree with you that 'ghee' should be common, if you'll agree with me that 'casein' should be common.

MK

Do people still use ghee? Maybe just those who don't worry about their cholesterol levels?

pat

• Eulexic
  • Rugby, England.
    • View Profile
« Reply #3 on: March 04, 2013, 09:08:47 PM »
Do people still use ghee? Maybe just those who don't worry about their cholesterol levels?

Maybe it's not as bad as you think:

http://www.dailymail.co.uk/indiahome/indianews/article-2213986/A-spoon-ghee-health-Poses-danger-cardiac-health-helps-prevent-cancer.html

Morbius

• Cryptoverbalist
    • View Profile
« Reply #4 on: March 04, 2013, 09:34:49 PM »
OK it's a deal, MK.  Casein should definitely be common.

ensiform

• Paronomaniac
    • View Profile
« Reply #5 on: March 05, 2013, 12:17:01 PM »